**By: Gilbert Bosco N'habay** 21st July 2021



PROFILE OF FEMALE REPRESENTATION IN THE FOURTH AND FIFTH PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF SIERRA LEONE.

# FACT SHEET

**Parliamentary Research Unit** 

Vol. 1



## **About This Factsheet**

This Fact sheet contains information on female representation for the 4th and 5th Parliament in the second Republic of Sierra Leone. It has information on the names of the female Members of Parliament (MPs), their political parties and overall statistics in respect of their representation.

### 4th Parliament of the Second Republic of Sierra Leone Gender Profile (2012-2017)

The fourth Parliament had **112** elected MPs from **2** Political parties (APC & SLPP) and **12** Paramount Chief Members of Parliament, making it a total of **124** MPs. There were **16** Female MPs, making room for **13% representation in Parliament**.

Party	Female Representation	% of Female Representation per Political Party
SLPP	7	44%
APC	9	56%
PCMP	0	0
Total	16	100%

Female % Representation in respect of Political Parties represented in Parliament



No.	Name	Constituency	District	Political
1.	Hon. Alice Foryoh	01	Kailahun	SLPP
2.	Hon. Bernadette Lahai	13	Kenema	SLPP
3.	Hon. Helen Kuyembeh	75	Во	SLPP
4.	Hon. Emma Kowa	76	Bo	SLPP
5.	Hon. Gladys Gbappie Brima	82	Moyamba	SLPP
6.	Hon. Mima Yeama Stephen	84	Moyamba	SLPP
7.	Hon. Veronica Kadie Sesay	85	Moyamba	SLPP
8	Hon. Mabinty Kadijah Sillah	28	Bombali	APC
9	Hon. Patricia Brown	37	Kambia	APC
10	Hon. Mabinty H. Bangura	42	Kambia	APC
11	Hon. Isata Kabia	50	Port Loko	APC
12	Hon. Mabinty Forna	65	Tonkolili	APC
13	Hon. Rosemarie Bangura	66	Tonkolili	APC
14	Hon. Songowa Bundu	61	Tonkolili	APC

15	Hon. Rosaline J. Smith	103	Western Urban	APC
16	Hon. Abie Kalokoh	51	Port Loko	APC

#### 5th Parliament of the second Republic of Sierra Leone Gender Profile (2018-2023)

The 5th Parliament has **132** elected MPs and **14** Paramount Chief Members of Parliament, with a total composition of **146**. The **132** elected MPs are drawn from **4** political parties in Parliament. The current composition of female MPs is **18**, making up **12% representation in Parliament**.

Party	Female Representation	% of Female Representation per Party
SLPP	7	38.9%
APC	7	38.9%
РСМР	2	11.1%
C4C	1	5.6%
Independent	1	5.6%
Total	18	100%

#### Female % Representation in respect of Political Parties, Independent and PCMPs represented in Parliament



No.	Name	Constituency	District	Political
1.	Hon. Catherine Z. Tarawally	037	Bombali	APC
2.	Hon. Khadijatu Davies	110	Western Rural	APC
3.	Hon. Haja Miatta Amara	112	Western Rural	APC
4.	Hon. Mabinty C. Bangura	065	Karene	APC
5.	Hon. Hajaratu Faith Samura	117	Western Urban	APC
6.	Hon. Rugiatu Rosy Kanu	113	Western Urban	APC
7.	Hon. Rose Marie Bangura	55	Tonkolili	APC
8	Hon. Veronica K. Sesay	94	Moyamba	SLPP
9	Hon. Josephine Makieu	14	Kenema	SLPP
10	Hon. Alice J. Kumabeh	92	Bonthe	SLPP
11	Hon. Neneh Lebbie	86	Во	SLPP
12	Hon. Zainab K. Brima	10	Kailahun	SLPP
13	Hon. Bernadette W. Songa	08	Kailahun	SLPP
14	Hon. Massay N. Aruna	85	Во	SLPP
15	Hon. Matilda Y. Lansana Minah 4 <sup>th</sup>	PC-	Pujehun	РСМР
16	Hon. Haja Fatmata Bintu Koroma Meama Kajue 4 <sup>th</sup>	PC	Moyamba	РСМР
17	Hon. Rebecca Y. Kamara	29	Kono	C4C
18	Hon. Lolloh Emilia Tongi	01	Kailahun	Independent