



FOURTH PARLIAMENT OF THE SECOND REPUBLIC OF SIERRA LEONE FIRST SESSION, 2012/2013 FIRST MEETING OF THE HOUSE VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

NO.21/2012/2013

WEDNESDAY

6THMARCH, 2013

THE HOUSE MET AT 10:00 A.M.

MR.SPEAKER IN THE CHAIR – HON. JUSTICE ABEL N.B.STRONGE

ATTENDANCE:

- I. The following Honourable Members of Parliament were present
- 1. HON.ALIE JAMES N.
- 2. HON.BAH CHERNOR R.M.
- 3. HON.BANGURA BENNEH
- 4. HON.BANGURA IBRAHIM M.
- 5. HON. BANYA IV P.C. MOHAMED SAMA KAILONDO
- 6. HON. BOYAH KOMBA E.S.
- 7. HON.BOIMA IV P.C.PRINCE LAPPIA
- 8. HON. BRAIMA SAMUEL H.
- 9. HON.BROWN PATRICIA
- 10. HON.BUNDU IBRAHIM R.
- 11. HON.BUNDU SONGOWA
- 12. HON.CONTEH BRIMAH
- 13. HON.CONTEH KARIFALA S.
- 14. HON.CONTEH KEMOKOH
- 15. HON.DABUNDEH AIAH DR.
- 16. HON.DUMBUYA ALHAJI S.
- 17. HON.DUMBUYA SHEKU B.B.
- 18. HON.EBBA TAMBA ENTOCHEMA
- 19. HON.FAWUNDU DAUDA D.
- 20. HON.FOFANA AMADU
- 21. HON.FUNNA MABINTY
- 22. HON.FOYAH ALICE

- 23. HON.GBAPPY-BRIMA GLADYS GBEMOH
- 24. HON.HASSAN SHERIFF B.
- 25. HON. JABBI BU-BUAKEI DR.
- 26. HON. JAJUA ABU
- 27. HON.JENGO EDWARD S.
- 28. HON.JOHNSON DAVID
- 29. HON.JORKIE MOSES B.
- 30. HON.KABOMBOR II P.C. MANSA PAKI
- 31. HON. KAIKAI ANSUMANA JAIA
- 32. HON.KAINPUMU II P.C. ALEX M.J.J
- 33. HON.KAISAMBA FRANCIS A.
- 34. HON.KALLON DAUDA J.B
- 35. HON.KALOKO ABI
- 36. HON.KALOKO ALIE
- 37. HON.KALOKO BAI J.
- 38. HON.KAMANDA CLAUDE D.M.
- 39. HON. KAMARA ALBERT DEEN
- 40. HON.KAMARA ALHASSAN
- 41. HON.KAMARA ALHASSAN JERO
- 42. HON.KAMARA ALIMAMY A.
- 43. HON.KAMARA IBRAHIM
- 44. HON. KAMARA KOMBOR
- 45. HON.KAMARA MOHAMED
- 46. HON.KAMARA NICHOLAS
- 47. HON.KAMARA SAIDU BABAH
- 48. HON.KANNEH ALUSINE
- 49. HON.KANU ABDUL SALAAM
- 50. HON.KANU AMADU MOHAMED
- 51. HON.KARGBO ALIMAMY G.
- 52. HON.KARGBO PATRICK L.M.
- 53. HON.KARGBO ROLAND FODAY DR.
- 54. HON.KEBBIE P.C. BRIMA VICTOR SIDI
- 55. HON.KEMOKAI LANSANA I.
- 56. HON.KOEDOYOMA KOMBA E.
- 57. HON.KONGOMOH II P.C. JOSEPH ALIE KAVURA
- 58. KONUWA FRANCIS A.
- 59. HON.KOROMA ABU BAKARR
- 60. HON.KOROMA DANIEL B.

- 61. HON.KOROMA SUALIHO MONYABA
- 62. HON.KOWA EMMA J.
- 63. HON.KPOSOWA FRANK
- 64. HON.KUYEMBEH HELEN
- 65. HON.LAHAI BERNADETTE DR.
- 66. HON.LEWALLY ALPHA BABATUNDE
- 67. HON.LUNGAY ANDREW V.
- 68. HON.MANLY-SPAIN AJIBOLA E.
- 69. HON.MANSARAY JUSUFU B.
- 70. HON.MANSARAY MOHAMED L.
- 71. HON.MANSARAY SAIDU
- 72. HON.MARAH III P.C. ALIE BALANSAMA
- 73. HON. MARAH ALUSINE
- 74. HON. MARAH LAHAI
- 75. HON.MBAYOH ROSKY M.
- 76. HON. MOMOH MOIWAI
- 77. HON. MUNDA HABIB B.
- 78. HON.MUNU ALIEU BADDARA K.
- 79. HON.OSHO-WILLIAMS BLISS E.DR.
- 80. HON.RADDAR HENNEH
- 81. HON.ROGERS DICKSON M.
- 82. HON.SALAMY BOCKARIE N.
- 83. HON.SALLU-LUGBU II P.C. BAI BUREH
- 84. HON.SANGBAH SAAH
- 85. HON.SANKA III P.C. BAI KURR KANAGBARO
- 86. HON.SANKOH IBRAHIN NOX
- 87. HON.SESAY HASSAN A.
- 88. HON.SANNOH SHEKU
- 89. HON.SESAY ABDULAI
- 90. HON.SESAY DAN Y.
- 91. HON.SESAY KUSAN
- 92. HON.SHO-SAWYER MICHEL DR.
- 93. HON.SILIKIE BASHIRU
- 94. HON.SILLAH MABINTY K.
- 95. HON.SISAY SULAIMAN M.
- 96. HON.SMITH ROSALINE J.
- 97. HON.SONSIAMA III P.C.SHEKU A.T.FASULUKU
- 98. HON.SOURIE FREDERICK S.

99. HON.SOBBA-STEPHENS MIMA Y.M.

- 100. HON.SUMAH FODAY I DR.
- 101. HON.SWARAY MOSES A.
- 102. HON.TARA-KOROMA TAWORO DR.
- 103. HON.TARAWALLY UMAR PARAN
- 104. HON.TEAMBO MATTHEW M.T DR.
- 105. HON.TENGBEH SAHR
- 106. HON.TORTO AUGUSTINE B.
- 107. HON.TURAY THOMAS M.DR.
- 108. HON.TURAY THOMAS B.
- 109. HON.YEK II P.C. ALHAJI BAI SHEBORA
- 110. HON.YOKIE FODAY RADO
- 111. HON.BAH IBRAHIM PATEH

II. The following Honourable Members of Parliament were absent:

- 1. HON. BRAIMA MUSTAPHA M.
- 2. HON. FATORMA SAHR
- 3. HON.KATTA ALFRED BRIMA
- 4. HON. PEWA P.C. PRINCE MAMBU
- 5. HON.SESAY VERONICA K.
- 6. HON. THOMAS SEGEPOH S.

III. The following Honourable Members of Parliament were absent with excuse:

- 1. HON. BANGURA MABINTY H.
- 2. HON.FAWUNDU SENESI
- 3. HON. KABIA ISATA
- 4. HON.THOLLEY MOHAMED K.
- 5. HON. TUNIS SIDIE MOHAMED
- IV. PRAYERS: The Legislative Committee Clerk, Mr. Lamin Yansaneh, said the prayers.

V. CORRECTION AND ADOPTION OF VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS FOR THE PARLIAMENTARY SITTING HELD ON THURSDAY, 28TH FEBRUARY, 2013

Hon. Mabinty K. Sillah moved a motion for the adoption of the record of Votes and Proceedings of Thursday 28th February, 2013. It was seconded by **Hon. Andrew V. Lungay** and unanimously accepted by Members with some amendments.

VI. AMENDMENT OF ORDER PAPER:

Item III on the Order Paper was amended with the replacement of the reported seconder of the

motion, Hon. Claude D.M. Kamanda with Hon. Ibrahim R. Bundu.

VII. MOTION OF THE COMMITTEE ON APPOINTMENTS AND THE PUBLIC SERVICE:

Proposer: Hon. S.B.B. Dumbuya

Seconder: Hon.Ibrahim R. Bundu

Be it Resolved:

That the Seventh Report of the First Session of the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service be adopted by the House and that the recommendations contained therein be approved.

The Chairman of the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, and Majority Leader of the House and of Government Business, **Hon. S.B.B. Dumbuya** read the seventh report of the first Session of the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service on the following Presidential nominees:

1.	Alhaji Ibrahim Kemoh Sesay	-	Proposed Minister of Political and Public Affairs;
2.	Mr. Valesius Victor Thomas	-	Proposed Justice of the Supreme Court of Sierra Leone;
3.	Feremusu Konteh	-	Proposed Deputy Minister of Youth Affairs;
4.	Mr. Ismail Al-Sankoh-Conteh	-	Proposed Deputy Minister of Sports;
5.	Mr. Peter Bayuku Konteh	-	Proposed Minister of Tourism and Cultural Affairs.

The motion was seconded by Hon. Ibrahim R. Bundu.

The following Honourable Members contributed to the debate on the motion.

- 1. Hon. Ansumana Jaia Kaikai;
- 2. Hon. Rosaline J. Smith;
- 3. Hon. Hassan Sheriff;
- 4. Hon. Dr. Bernadette Lahai;
- 5. Hon. S.B.B. Dumbuya.

The motion was unanimously ratified by Members.

VIII. STATEMENT BY MR. SPEAKER:

Mr. Speaker congratulated the Presidential nominees. He said that failure would be unacceptable and therefore admonished them to offer their best in the service of the nation.

IX. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE CLERK, MR. LAMIN YANSANEH:

The under-mentioned Parliamentary Committees were requested to meet as follows:

- 1. Committee on Works, Housing and Infrastructure to meet in Committee Room 1, immediately after sitting;
- 2. Committee on Energy and Water Resources to meet in Committee Room 1, immediately after sitting;
- 3. Committee on Education was invited to meet in Committee Room 1, immediately after sitting;
- 4. All Members of Parliament from Tonkolili District were invited to meet in Committee Room 1, immediately after sitting;
- Committee of Supply would commence with its Public hearings on Thursday 7thMarch, 2013. All Members were asked to make it a point of duty to attend;
- 6. Hon. David Johnson invited all Members of Parliament to a Project Launching at Murray Town on Friday 8thMarch at 10:00 a.m.
- 7. All Female and Young Members of Parliament were invited by "Democracy Sierra Leone" to a final training session, immediately after sitting.

X. ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE CLERK OF PARLIAMENT:

- 1. That some copies of a book entitled "Essays on the Sierra Leone Constitution 1991" by Dr. Osman Conteh are available at a cost of Le 50,000;
- 2. That the reporter for Star Radio 103 should see him in his Office, immediately after sitting.

XI. ANNOUNCEMENT BY HON. S.B.B. DUMBUYA:

1. That all Members of Parliament were invited to meet in Committee Room 1 to discuss the procedures in the Committee of Supply.

XII. ADJOURNMENT

Mr. Speaker adjourned the House to Thursday 14th March,2013.

THE HOUSE ROSE AT 11:40 A.M.